A Matador Evening

Celebrate Homecoming with the Texas Tech Alumni Association! We invite you to attend our 55th annual “A Matador Evening” dinner Friday, October 9 at the McKenzie-Merket Alumni Center.

Join fellow Red Raiders and supporters of Texas Tech University for a reception at 6 p.m. with dinner immediately following as we honor this year’s Lauro F. Cavazos Award and Distinguished Service Award winners. Cocktail attire.

Make your reservation by Oct. 4.

$1,100 Premier Table | $750 Preferred Table for Eight | $75 Individual Tickets

Underwriting and sponsorship opportunities are available.

For more information on the event or sponsorship of "A Matador Evening," please contact the Texas Tech Alumni Association office at 806-742-3641, or jaryn.kilmer@ttu.edu.

Lauro F. Cavazos Award

Texas Tech Alumni Association established the Lauro F. Cavazos Award in 1987, which was named in honor of the former president of Texas Tech University.

The award was designed to recognize and honor individuals or couples who have made significant contributions to Texas Tech and the Alumni Association through individual efforts, public recognition and/or financial support. Recipients of the award have made a positive impact on the university through their generosity, professional accomplishments and acts of service.

Alumni, friends of Texas Tech, as well as current and former employees of the university are eligible to receive the award or to submit a nomination.

Lauro F. Cavazos Award Recipients

1987 Lauro F. Cavazos, Ph.D.

1988 Don Maddox

1989 Elizabeth G. "Bess" Haley, Ph.D.

1990 Joe Pevehouse

1991 Iris & *Malouf Abraham

1992 W.B. "dub" & Mozelle Rushing

1993 Gerald & *Louise Merket

1994 Dan Law

1995 Don Lambert

1996 Ed Whitacre

1997 Ray J. & Lou Dunn Diekemper, Ph.D.

1998 John Sims

1999 Alan White

2000 James E. Sowell

2001 Donald Haragan, Ph.D.

2002 Spike Dykes

2003 Georgia Mae Smith Ericson

2004 Mr. & Mrs. John T. Montford

2005 C.R. "Choc" Hutcheson

2006 Marsha Sharp

2007 Nelda & Pete Laney

2008 Peggy & Bill Dean, Ed.D.

2009 Sen. Robert Duncan

2010 No Award Presented

2011 Mickey & Barbara McKenzie

2012 General Walter B. Huffman '67, '68, '77 & Anne Robison Huffman '66 (1944-2011)

2013 Bernhard T. Mittemeyer, M.D.

2014  Honorable Kent '65 & Susie Hance

Distinguished Service Award

The Distinguished Service Award was established in 1977 to recognize outstanding service to Texas Tech University or the Alumni Association. Alumni, friends of Texas Tech, as well as current and former employees of the university are eligible to receive the award or to submit a nomination.

Distinguished Service Award Recipients

1977 Lewis N. Jones

1977 Polk Robison

1978 J T King

1978 Nelson Longley

1978 Margret Stuart

1979 Glenn Barnett

1979 Bob Nash

1979 Dan Tarpley

1979 Haskell Taylor

1980 Berl Huffman

1980 Sylva Wesendonk

1980 Paul Woods

1981 Roy Grimes

1981 Dean Killion

1981 John Taylor

1982 Bill Barnett

1982 Leon Harris

1982 Gene Medley

1983 James G. Allen, Ph.D.

1983 Jack Dale

1983 J.L. Gulley

1984 Joyce Arterburn

1984 Wayland Bennet, Ph.D.

1984 Magdalen Carpenter

1985 Glen Cary

1985 Richard Dickey

1985 Byron Fullerton

1985 John Scoggin

1987 Tim & Tommie Hatch

1987 Big Ed Wilkes

1988 Idris Traylor, Ph.D.

1988 Winifred Vigness

1989 Margaret & Harold Brannan, M.D.

1990 Alvin Davis

1990 Clyde Morganti

1990 Sharon Nelson

1991 James Brink, Ph.D.

1991 Marty Grassel

1992 William F. Bennet, Ph.D.

1992 David Murrah, Ph.D.

1993 Earl Fuson

1994 Jeannine McHaney

1995 Travis Simpson

1996 Committee for Champions: Danny Koch, co-chair & Ronnie Hill, co-chair

1997 Linda Ricks

1997 Jim Ratliff  

1998 David Thomas

1999 Gerald Myers

1999 Martha York

2000 Bob Brown

2001 Peggy Maxwell

2002 John Burns, Ph.D.

2003 Keith Bearden

2004 Glenn January

2005 Marsha Gustafson

2006 Jeff Klotzman

2007 William M. Marcy, Ph.D.

2008 Kitty Harris Wilkes, Ph.D.

2009 Janie Ramirez

2010 Wayne James

2011 No Honoree

2012 Jerry Hudson, Ph.D. '71, '72, '80

2013 Allen T. McInnes, Ph.D.

2014 No Honoree